Bon Voyage

SBMM says Bon Voyage to Membership Coordinator Ian Kirkpatrick as he heads to Humboldt State University to pursue a degree in Mechanical Engineering.

Anubis meets San Miguel Island

Anubis Point, San Miguel Island. Although not an official place name, its origin dates back 110 years ago. On 20 July, 1908, the 382-foot German freighter SS Anubis with a crew of 65, was en route from San Francisco, California via Mazatlan, Mexico then onto Hamburg, Germany when it stranded on San Miguel Island in fog. The vessel was… ( More )

Lee Selisky Inducted into the ISCHF

Statement from the Board of Directors of the International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame on Lee Selisky – a Class of 2019 Inductee. In an extraordinary announcement, the Board of Directors for the International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame (ISDHF) has announced the first member of the 2019 induction class as Mr. Lee Selisky.  Chairman of the Board of Directors, and… ( More )

Bev Morgan

We are very sad to announce the passing of commercial diving pioneer Bev Morgan. A former abalone diver, Bev was the world’s leading designer of commercial diving headgear and life-support equipment. In 1965 he partnered with Bob Kirby to form Kirby-Morgan Diving Systems (now called Kirby Morgan Diving Systems International), which to this day, is… ( More )

Jack Johnson Delivering Mail

Jack Johnson delivering some Love Letters to the Sea at the U.N. Environment & NOAA’s 6th International Marine Debris Conference. Some of the letters were created at various Love Letters to the Sea events that the Santa Barbara Maritime Museum hosted were on display in the Art Gallery at 6IMDC. L to R: Jessica Scheeter, Sondra… ( More )

Bill Anderson Honored

Santa Barbara Commercial Fishermen honored the memory of Bill Anderson today. A boatbuilder, Anderson built boats still used today for urchin diving, and built a boat designed by George Greenough. Dozens of locals gathered on the waters off of Leadbetter to honor him.